How long is the Florida parenting class?
The Florida parenting class is 4 hours long. But the class is self-paced. You can advance through the class at will. Start and stop the course on your own schedule when it’s convenient for you.
Is a parenting class required for divorce in Florida?
A parenting class is required before a court will enter a final judgment in a Florida divorce involving minor children. You can’t finalize your divorce until you complete a parenting class and file the class completion certificate with the court.
What is a parenting plan in Florida?
A parenting plan is a legal document that governs the relationship between the parents relating to decisions about their minor child. A parenting plan must include a time-sharing schedule. A time-sharing schedule is a timetable that specifies the time, including overnights and holidays, that a minor child will spend with each parent.
What does the parenting class cost?
$39.95. And there is NO extra charge to receive your certificate by email. It’s emailed to you for free when you complete the class. (Beware: other online classes charge extra – as much as $10 – to email you the certificate. This is often a surprise upcharge that students only discover when they complete the class.)
Why take the parenting class online?
One word: convenience. The class is available online anytime. It’s divided into chapters of 30 minutes each. So you can complete it, chapter by chapter, at home when you have a little free time.
Is this course approved by the Florida DCF?
Yes. Our class is DCF approved. You can review our DCF approval letter here.
Is this course approved in my county?
Some counties refuse to accept an online parenting class, even though it is approved by DCF. Please ask your attorney or contact your local clerk of court (domestic relations division) to verify acceptance. You can find the contact information for your clerk of court: here.
Do I need to go to your office to sign up or complete the course?
No. The course is 100% online. To register now, click here.
How do I receive the completion certificate?
The certificate is emailed to you in PDF format when you complete the class. You also have the option to forward the certificate to your attorney from within the last chapter of the class.
What is the cost to mail the certificate to me?
$4.99. You may purchase the mailed certificate on the course completion page.
What is your refund policy?
If a court refuses to accept our class, then we will refund your class cost.
Does this course provide mental health therapy?
No. Our parenting course is intended for educational purposes only. The material is not intended to constitute mental health therapy, give information on specific mental health disorders nor medications to treat mental health disorders. Participants should discuss specific mental health questions with a licensed mental health therapist of their choice.
Does this course provide legal advice?
No. The material is not intended to constitute legal advice. The portions of the class dealing with the law provide only general Florida family law principles. The participant should consult a licensed attorney for answers to specific legal questions. This class is not a substitute for consulting with an attorney.
How do I contact the course provider if I have other questions?
Can I pay for one class and have the other parent take it with me?
No. Each person must pay for his or her own class. One student, one class, for each fee paid.
Can you put the names of both parents on one certificate?
No. Each certificate can only have one parent's name on it.